DeGrom, Verlander Win Cy Young Awards

Sports That Matters

Powered By 


Sign-Up | Make a Deposit | Get Bonuses

November 13, 2019

In 2019, Verlander won 20 games for the second time in his career.
Photo: Kevin Sousa | USA Today

The votes are in for baseball’s biggest pitching prize, and the Cy Young Award winners, as announced Wednesday night by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America on MLB Network, are the Mets’ Jacob deGrom in the NL and the Astros’ Justin Verlander in the AL.

This is the second Cy Young selection for both of these premier pitchers.

Here’s a look at why the Cy suited them: (READ MORE) by Anthony Castrovince |

This is the award he badly craved, making no secret of how satisfying it would be, and honestly – how much he truly believed he deserved it.

It took eight years to win his second American League Cy Young Award, but this one was the sweetest for Justin Verlander, earning the honor when most pitchers his age are retired or washed up.

Verlander, 36, became the oldest pitcher to win the Cy Young award since 42-year-old Roger Clemens in 2004. (READ MORE) by Bob Nightengale | USA TODAY

Image result for jacob degrom
PHOTO: Yahoo Sports

For the second straight year, Mets right-hander Jacob deGrom is the National League Cy Young Award winner. With his 2019 win, deGrom becomes the 12th pitcher ever to win two or more consecutive Cy Young Awards and the 20th to win multiple Cy Youngs. (READ MORE) by Dayn Perry | CBS Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *