NCAA 2019 College Football Top Ten Lists

Sports That Matters

July 23rd, 2019


Urban Meyers has retired form coaching football for now. Meyers won National Championships in 2014 with the Ohio State Buckeyes and 2008 with the Florida Gators. Meyers is third on the list of all-time coaches in winning percentage behind Frank Leahy and the leader Knute Rockne. His overall record 187-32 .854% at four different schools, Bowling Green StateUtahFloridaOhio State.

So who is the best in the game today? How do you know? Is it total wins or winning percentage? Maybe it longevity, the test of time.

Here are my top coaches in the game!

Chris Petersen has been at two schools, Boise StateWashington and has complied a 139-33 .808% in his short career. Some will say winning at Boise State on a regular basis is not like winning in the SEC. He is building a program that if this year or next he can win a National Championship, will propel him up the list.

Dabo Swinney has had a great run at Clemson, coming off a National Championship, which gives him two 2018 and 2016. Swinney has a 116-30 record with a .795% which just puts him ahead of Nick Saban. He’s 2-2 against Nick Saban and Alabama over the last four years. Clemson is recruiting like a superpower now, too. However, Saban has six National Championships which makes him tough to push off the top of the list.

Nick Saban 237-63-1 .789% has been at four college programs, ToledoMichigan StateLSUAlabama. Most may not know, the NCAA has adjusted Saban’s record to 232-63-1 Saban, since coming to the Crimson Tide is 145-21 over 12 season. He has won five National Championship 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017 while at Bama. Let us not forget his 48 wins with a National Championship in 2003 over five seasons. He is the best hands down.

Jimbo Fisher has been at two college programs, Florida State and Texas A&M. Fisher’s 92-27 .773% puts him in the mix for the top ten. Fisher has one National Championship 2013 with the Seminoles. Championships can keep you high on the list and don’t think he won’t win multiple championship over his ten year contract.

Kirby Smart while at Georgia is 32-10 .762% in three seasons. They have dominated the SEC East. Two obstacles the Bulldogs need to solve are the Alabama Crimson Tide and winning a National Championship for Smart to move up. Time will move Smart up the list.

Lincoln Riley has elevated the Oklahoma Sooners even better then they were under Bob Stoops. Riley is 24-4 .875% in just two seasons. However, a small sample size and two bowl losses will keep him down on the list for now.

David Shaw in eight seasons at Stanford has complied a record of 82-26 .759%. He has run a solid program but dipped last year to Peterson and the Washington Huskies. No National Championship games and only 5-3 in bowl games keeps him off the list.

Gary Patterson is next up in winning percentage at .726%. his record at Texas Christian is 167-63. Post season will keep him off the list for now. Hard to imagine TCU winning a National Championship but you never know.

Kansas has hired a good one in Les Miles, who is just behind Patterson at .721% with a 142-55 at two schools Oklahoma State and LSU. A 2007 National Championship was not enough in twelve seasons at LSU. Its National Championship or bust, which tarnished a solid run in Baton Rouge.

Brian Kelly has done his work at three schools, Central MichiganCincinnatiNotre Dame His 134-57 record with a .702% could put him on the list. The Irish since moving to an ACC schedule have lost a little luster but still Kelly has done a top ten job.


  1. Nick Saban, Alabama Crimson Tide
  2. Dabo Swinney, Clemson Tigers
  3. Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M Aggies
  4. Les Miles, Kansas Jayhawks
  5. Kirby Smart, Georgia Bulldogs
  6. Chris Peterson, Washington Huskies
  7. Kirby Smart, Georgia Bulldogs
  8. Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma Sooners
  9. Brian Kelly, Notre Dame Fighting Irish
  10. Tom Herman, Texas Longhorns

Best of the Rest

  1. Mac Brown, North Carolina Tar Heels
  2. David Shaw, Stanford Cardinal
  3. Gary Patterson, TCU Horn Frogs
  4. Butch Davis, Florida International Panthers
  5. Kyle Wittingham, Utah Utes
  6. Jim Harbaugh, Michigan Wolverines
  7. Dan Mullen, Florida Gators
  8. Mark Dantonio, Michigan State Spartans
  9. Kevin Sumlin, Arizona University Wildcats
  10. Bronco Mendenhall, BYU Cougars

Make sure you sign up for the show’s newsletter right (HERE)

Follow the show on Twitter (HERE)

Like the show’s Facebook page (HERE)






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *