Toronto Raptors Win Their First NBA Championship

Sports That Matters

Brought to you by Site Ground

June 13th, 2019

Welcome Back!

Congratulations to the 2019 NBA Champions the Toronto Raptors!

1. Game 6 the Raptor beat the Warriors to win the NBA Championship.

GP: Kawhi Leonard Raptors 190610

Photo: Gregory Shamus | Getty Images

The Toronto Raptors are NBA champions for the the first time in franchise history.

They secured the title with a 114-110 win over the Golden State Warriors in Game 6 of the 2019 NBA Finals, taking the series 4-2.

The victory ends a wonderfully exhilarating 24-game post-season run for the Raptors, who ousted the Orlando Magic, Philadelphia 76ers and Milwaukee Bucks to get to their first NBA Finals.

Kawhi Leonard was awarded the 2019 Bill Russell NBA Finals MVP Award.

Kawhi Leonard is one of three NBA players in history to win two Finals MVP with two different teams. The other to are Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and LeBron James.

Leonard averaged 28.5 points per game on 43 percent shooting in the Finals.

Leonard finishes with 730 points in the 2019 playoffs, the third most by any player ever behind Michael Jordan (759 in 1992) and LeBron James (748 in 2018) and put an emphatic stamp on his first season with the Raptors.

Leonard is the fourth player to win Finals MVP in his first season with a team, joining Magic Johnson with the Lakers in 1980, Moses Malone with the Philadelphia 76ers in 1983 and Kevin Durant with the Warriors in 2017.

The Raptors are the first Eastern Conference team since the 2010 Celtics to reach the NBA Finals without LeBron James on their roster.

Photo: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Golden State was 0-3 at home against Toronto this season, losing all three games by double digits.

Curry holds plenty of postseason 3-point records. He has made 447 3-pointers in the playoffs, 62 more than any player ever. He has also knocked down 98 3-pointers in the finals, 12 more than any other player in history.

There was once again another significant injury as Klay Thompson went down with a knee injury late in the third quarter, and left the arena on crutches.

Only six teams in the 72-year history of the league have made it to four straight Finals, Celtics from 1957-66 (going 9-1), Lakers from 1982-85 (2-2), Celtics from 1984-87 (2-2), Heat from 2011-14 (2-2), Cavaliers from 2015-18 (1-3), Warriors from 2015-19 (3-2)

2. Game 6 by the numbers.

Kyle Lowry celebrates as the Raptors are crowned NBA champions for first time in team history.

Photo: Toronto Star

Kawhi Leonard tallied 22 points and 6 rebounds to led the Raptors to a Game 6 win.

Kyle Lowry had a great night with 26 points, 10 assists and seven rebounds.

Pascal Siakam chipped in 26 points, 10 rebounds and dishing out three assists.

Fred VanVleet made a series of huge fourth-quarter shots and finished with 22 points, hitting on 5-of-11 from distance.

Stephen Curry had 22 points and had an open look to win the game from three and clanked out to give the ball back to the Raptors.

Klay Thompson had 28 points on just 12 shots when he landed awkwardly on a drive to the rim that was contested by Toronto’s Danny Green with 2:22 remaining in the third quarter.

Draymond Green totaled 11 points, 19 rebounds and 13 assists for a triple-double.

Andre Iguodala had an unexpected 22 points.

A bit more…

The Washington Wizards are preparing to offer Toronto Raptors president of basketball operations Masai Ujiri a deal that could approach $10 million annually and deliver him the opportunity for ownership equity.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *